Who Are the Ministers in Tinubu’s Government?

The much anticipated ministerial nominees list of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu some names emerged some is former Kaduna State Governor Nasiru El-Rufai, his Rivers State counterpart Nyesom Wike and eminent medical scholar Ali Pate.

A Senate source revealed that President Tinubu finally sent the list to Senate President Godswill Akpabio this morning, in line with the constitutional provision that the list should get to the National Assembly within 60 days after the presidential inauguration.

The deadline expires this weekend.

The list, which is a blend of politicians and technocrats, includes legal luminary Lateef Fagbemi (SAN); an economist Olawale Edun; banker Adebayo Adelabu, former Osun State Governor Adegboyega Oyetola, All Progressives Congress (APC) Women Leader Betta Edu, Senator Ben Ayade and Tinubu’s Special Adviser on Media, Strategy and Special Duties, Dele Alake.

Speaking to The Nation, the source, who could not also confirm the number of nominees, said the list reflected the national character and outlook of the President and the ruling party.

According to the source, the screening of nominees is likely to be held next week.

A source said Pate, a Harvard professor of medicine and former Minister of State (Health) in the defunct Jonathan Administration, is likely to hold the Health portfolio.

El-Rufai, a former Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT), headed the APC Panel on Restructuring. According to the source, he may be assigned to the Power Ministry.

Fagbemi, who hails from Ijagbo, Kwara State, is set to be appointed Minister of Justice and Attorney-general of the Federation.

Edun, one-time Lagos Finance Commissioner, is Special Adviser to the President on Monetary Policy.

Oyetola, a financial expert, was governor of Osun State between 2018 and 2022.

The APC Women Leader, Dr. Edu, is a former Health Commissioner in Cross Rivers State.

The nominee from Oyo State, Adelabu, retired as Central Bank Deputy Governor. In the last general election, he contested for governor on the platform of the Accord Party.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.