About us

Naijao3 is a news website that provides current news from around the globe in areas such as music, entertainment, sports, video and politics. Its articles are written by experienced journalists and only authentic news is published on Naijao3.

INEC suspends re-run elections in 20 polling units

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has suspended re-run elections in 20 polling units across Kano, Enugu, and Akwa-Ibom states.

The National Commissioner and Chairman of the Information and Voter Education Committee, Sam Olumekun, disclosed this in a statement on Saturday.

INEC had earlier stated that it was probingelection disruptions that occurred during the rerun/by-elections in Enugu, Akwa-Ibom, and Kano states.

The commission said, “Generally, polls opened promptly and accreditation going on smoothly in the 8,934 polling units in 26 states involved in today’s bye-elections and re-run elections.

However, we are monitoring reported disruption of processes by acts of thuggery and hijacking of materials in some locations in Akwa Ibom, Enugu, and Kano states.”

However, in its latest updates, it stated that the suspension was a result of irregularities and abduction of election officials.

“The Independent National Electoral Commission announces the suspension of ongoing re-run elections in specific constituencies due to disruptions, irregularities, and abduction of election officials. The affected areas are as follows:

Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency, Akwa Ibom State.

Enugu South 1 State Constituency, Enugu State.

Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency, Kano State


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.